Skip to main content
HomeAbout Us Page

About ClassCrits

We are celebrating our 10th year in 2017 with our tenth conference and also by incorporating formally.  We are in the process of applying for IRS tax-exempt status as a 501(c)(3) organization.

Our Mission Statement, published in 2014, includes the following principles:
  • We reject the theory that economic inequality is an unavoidable result of an impartial market, or that economic interests are separate from social identity and politics.
  • We hold that economic class power and inequality is inextricably connected to race and gender hierarchies along with other social systems of unequal power and privilege.
  • We hold that law is central to the creation and maintenance of structural inequalities.

Board of Directors

Lucy Jewel (through 2022) President
Athena Mutua (through 2022) Vice President

Martha T. McCluskey (through 2021) Treasurer
Rene Reich-Graefe (through 2023) Secretary
Danielle Kie Hart, (through 2023)
Angela Harris (through 2023)

Victoria Haneman (through 2021)
Thomas E. Kleven (through 2022)
Lua Kamal Yuille (through 2022)

ClassCrits, Inc.:

                ClassCrits Incorporation
                ClassCrits IRS tax exemption
                Registration Grant Policy
                Membership Policy

ClassCrits, Inc. has been supported by the law schools, universities, and faculty who have hosted our conferences, along with participants' registration fees. Member dues and donations will help us build our network and support future events.

In addition, in 2017-2018 we have funding and administrative support from the Rowboat Family Foundation to support formal incorporation and capacity building.

We depend on volunteer organizing from participants, board members and colleagues.

We thank the following universities and law schools for supporting us since our beginning in 2007:

University at Buffalo, State University of New York & Baldy Center for Law & Social Policy
American University Washington College of Law
University of Wisconsin
Southwestern Law School
University of California Davis School of Law
University of Tennessee College of Law
Loyola University Chicago School of Law
Tulane University Law School
West Virginia University College of Law
Western New England University School of Law